Nov 21, 2023

HOUSTON, TX – The Houston-Galveston Area Council (H-GAC) is pleased to announce the new delegates elected to serve on the 2024 board of directors, following the city caucus meetings held in November. The board plays a crucial role in leading collaborative efforts to address regional challenges and advance programs that benefit the diverse communities within the H-GAC 13-county region.

Representing the interests of general law cities, Mayor Joe Garcia of Pattison and Councilmember Nancy Arnold of Waller have been reelected as voting members of the H-GAC board. Serving as their alternates are Councilmember Teresa Vazquez Evans from Kemah and Mayor Pro Tem Susan Schwartz of Bunker Hill Village. These representatives were elected from H-GAC's General Assembly, which comprises delegates from member general law cities.

In addition, the H-GAC board will be enriched by the participation of voting members from home rule cities, with Mayor Pro Tem Johnnie Simpson, Jr. of Dickinson and Councilmember Ross Gordon of Bellaire stepping into these roles. Mayor Dan Davis of Manvel and Mayor Pro Tem Joe Compian of La Marque will serve as their alternates. Like their general law city counterparts, these representatives were elected from H-GAC’s General Assembly comprised of delegates from other home rule cities.

The H-GAC board of directors, composed of 37 local elected officials representing 13 counties, 107 cities, and 11 school districts, will oversee collaborative efforts with local governments. The board's focus spans a wide range of programs, including transportation planning, rural 9-1-1 services, workforce development, aging and disability resources, and disaster and recovery programs.

Monthly board meetings, crucial for open dialogue and decision-making, are open to the public.

For more information about the H-GAC board of directors, please visit H-GAC Board of Directors. To access the schedule of upcoming board meetings and other H-GAC events, view the H-GAC Calendar.