5B. APPROVAL OF TPC NOMINATING COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS

BACKGROUND

The Transportation Policy Council (TPC), Nominating Committee is appointed by the TPC Chair, per the TPC bylaws. The 2023 TPC Nominating Committee is comprised of the following members: Mayor Joe Zimmerman (City of Sugar Land)-Chair, Council Member Sally Branson (City of Friendswood), Council Member Sallie Alcorn (City of Houston), Commissioner Justin Beckendorff, (Waller County) Mr. Roberto Trevino (Harris County), Mr. Chuck Wemple (H-GAC), Judge Mark Keough (Montgomery County), and Dr. Carol Lewis (Gulf Coast Rail District).

As a subcommittee of the TPC, the bylaws of the Transportation Safety Committee require members to be appointed by the TPC Nominating Committee. Additionally, the bylaws of the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) require the TPC Nominating Committee to review nominations and make recommendations to TPC for approval for all at-large positions on the TAC.

The TPC approved the Nominating Committee's slate of 2023 subcommittee members in January 2023, however some positions remained or became vacant.

CURRENT SITUATION

Since the January 2023 TPC Meeting, the TPC Nominating Committee reviewed further recommendations for replacements and vacancies on the Transportation Safety Committee and the Transportation Advisory Committee At-Large Primary position.

- Sam Pena, City of Houston Fire Chief; Russell Fritsch, City of Houston Assistant Fire Chief; George Buenik, City of Houston Director of Public Safety and Homeland Security; and Thomas Munoz, City of Houston Deputy Director & Emergency Management Coordinator for the Office of Emergency Management will be added to the Transportation Safety Committee to the Law Enforcement/Fire/ EMT/Emergency Management positions.
- Stephan Gage will be added to the Transportation Advisory Committee in the Primary Active Transportation position filling a vacancy left by Andrea Ranft.

ACTION REQUESTED

Approval of the TPC Nominating Committee recommendations for updating the Transportation Safety Committee positions and Transportation Advisory Committee At-Large Primary position.