Bike and Pedestrian Subcommittee Meeting

April 16, 2020 9:30 AM



AGENDA

- 1. Introductions (Roll Call and Certification of Quorum 9)
- 2. Public Comments
- ACTION
- 3. Approval of Minutes for January 16, 2020 Meeting
- 4. Presentation and Approval of Action Plan with the Transportation Safety Committee

DISCUSSION

- 5. Connect Smart App 15 Min.
 Brenda Bustillos will provide an overview of the Texas Department of Transportation's new application that merges Travel Demand Management, Mobility as a Service, and Transportation Systems and Operations Management.
- 6. Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Project Prioritization 10 Min.
 H-GAC Staff will present an update concerning project prioritization for the TIP Call for Projects, including a timeline.



AGENDA

 7. Bike Ped Subcommittee TIP Project Prioritization Recommendations Workgroup – 10 Min.

Yuhayna Mahmud will provide an update concerning the new workgroup formed to provide project prioritization workgroup recommendations for TAC.

INFORMATION

- 8. Report on Status of Pedestrian-Bicyclist Activities from Members 2 Minutes each
 - Subcommittee members may briefly discuss current and future active transportation efforts. We are particularly interested in how members are responding, adjusting efforts based on COVID.
- 9. Upcoming Meeting Dates
 - Thursday, July 16, 9:30AM
 - Thursday, October 15, 9:30AM



Roll Call and Certification of Quorum (9)

2019 PEDESTRIAN-BICYCLIST SUBCOMMITTEE

Primary Member	Organization	Alternate	Organization	Representing
Aimee Schultze	Harris County Public Health	Tanya Makany-Rivera	Harris County Precinct 2	Local Government
Chris Orlea	City of Pearland	Robert Upton	City of Pearland	Local Government
Cliff Brouhard	City of Missouri City	Kevin Cummings	City of Missouri City	Local Government
Doug Shannon	Harris County	Mike Howlett	Harris County	Local Government
Megan Campbell	City of Houston PW	Melissa Beeler	City of Houston PDD	Local Government
Monique Johnson (Vice Chair)	City of Sugar Land	Eric Oscarson	City of Sugar Land	Local Government
Maria Town	City of Houston Mayor's Offfice for People with Disabilities	(Vacant)		Local Government
Zach Goodlander	City of Fulshear	Sharon Valiante	City of Fulshear	Local Government
Megan Mainer	City of Angleton	(Vacant)		Local Government
Eileen Egan	Near Northwest Management District	Veronica Chapa-Gorczynski	East End District	Management District
Jorge Bustamante	Greater Northside Management District	Natali Hurtado	International District	Management District
Jeff Taebel	H-GAC	Anita Hollmann	H-GAC	Non-Profit
Ana Ramirez Huerta	TxDOT-Houston	Yue Zhang	TxDOT-Houston	State Government
John McGowan	The Woodlands Township	John Powers	The Woodlands Township	Transit
Yuhayna Mahmud (Chair)	METRO	Megan Kennison	METRO	Transit
Jonathan Brooks	LINK Houston	Jessica Sarpu	Looscan Elem School (HISD)	Citizen Advocacy
Clark Martinson	BikeHouston	Kathryn Nowlin	Independent	Citizen Advocacy



Public Comments



Action Item – Approval of Minutes

January 16, 2020



Action Item – Transportation Safety Committee Action Plan

Stephan Gage, Houston – Galveston Area Council



Discussion Item -ConnectSmart Update

Brenda Bustillos, Texas Department of Transportation



Discussion Item- TIP Project Prioritization Workgroup

Jamila Owens, Houston-Galveston Area Council



TIP Project Prioritization Workgroup Purpose



"Provide the guidelines/processes for evaluating and ranking submitted projects prior to the next program call"



TIP Project Prioritization DRAFT Timeline



February 2020

March 2020

April – August 2020

September 2020

October 2020

November 2020

TPC review of final draft recommendations (Information)

TPC acceptance of final Workgroup recommendations (Action)

Staff, TAC and TIP Subcommittee develop criteria for next call for projects

TPC considers draft criteria (Information)

Public Comment Period

TPC considers final draft criteria and determines timeline for the next call for projects (Action)



Discussion Item- Bike Ped Subcommittee Project Prioritization Recommendations Workgroup

Yuhayna Mahmud



Bike Ped Subcommittee Workgroup Members

- George Barrow, TEI, Harris
- Monique Johnson, Sugarland, Fort Bend
- Yuhayna Mahmud, METRO, Harris
- Jonathan Brooks, Link Houston, Harris
- Jorge Bustamante, Greater Northside, Harris
- Lisa Graiff, Houston Parks Board, Harris
- Melissa Beeler, City of Houston, Harris
- Ana Ramirez, TXDOT, Districtwide
- John McGowan, Woodlands, Montgomery
- Dan Kelinske, Alvin, Brazoria
- Dustin Schubert, Mont Belvieu, Chambers
- Mario Rabago, Galveston



Information – Status Reports from Subcommitee Members

2 minutes each.



Information – Upcoming Meetings

- · Thursday, July 16, 9:30AM
- Thursday, October 15, 9:30AM



Meeting Adjourned

Bike Ped Subcommittee Staff Contacts:

Kathryn Vo, Senior Planner – Regional Planning, <u>Kathryn.Vo@h-gac.com</u> Jamila Owens, Manager - Travel Demand Management, <u>Jamila.Owens@h-gac.com</u>

