Armand Bayou

First Coordination Committee Meeting Summary

February 21, 2013

H-GAC: Aubin Phillips

TCEQ: Jason Leifester, Lauren Oertel

Meeting Attendees: George Guillen (EIH), Linda Broach (TCEQ), Roni Skirvin (CLC Green Plan), Linda Sheed (ABWP), Mark Kramer (ABNC), CA Shields (BAHEP), Diane Humes (ABWP), Grace Martinez (Sierra Club), Brian Koch (TSSWCB), Catherine Elliot (HCFCD), Daya Dayananda (City of Pasadena), Sandy Parker (NASA), Dennis Paul (City of Houston, District E), Philip Clapman (NASA), Tyson Vodochodsky (Pinky's Kayak), Claire Mules (Golf Course Committee), Tim Tietjens (City of La Porte), Steven Johnson (GBEP), CA Shields (BAHEP), Bianca Locke (City of Pasadena), Alan Amor (NASA)

The first meeting to form the Coordination Committee for the Armand Bayou I-Plan was held at the North Office Annex (NOA) Building at EIH at the University of Houston Clear Lake. The meeting started with introductions by staff and attendees. There were approximately 20 people in attendance.

Aubin Phillips gave an overview of the Implementation Plan process and why the I-Plan and TMDL are being done for Armand Bayou. Aubin explained how the Coordination Committee will work, they will set their own process and schedule for the duration of the project. The coordination committee can set work groups if they want – these groups will do more technical work, and come up with recommendations on more specific issues. The committee will be communicating with the public and will be drafting the plan to submit to TCEQ.

The group also discussed the possibility of just adding Armand Bayou on to the BIG I-Plan instead of recreating a whole new document. TCEQ will look into this possibility to see if we could add on to the BIG I-Plan once the TMDL is complete for Armand Bayou. The group also discussed the possibility of using the BIG I-Plan as a "menu" when working on their I-Plan.

Aubin then reviewed the ground rules for the Coordination Committee. There could be a more formal process or informal process, depending on what the group decides. Aubin went through some examples of ground rules and also had an example to pass out for people to look at. This will be determined at the next meeting.

We received about 10 Coordination Committee nomination forms at the first meeting. H-GAC followed up with a few groups and individuals to ask if they would like to participate on the

Coordination Committee. As of this meeting there are 15 people that have been nominated to participate:

Interest	Representative
City of Houston	Dennis Paul, District E
City of Pasadena	Daya Dayananda, Asst. Dir of Public Works
City of La Porte	Tim Tietjens, Director of Planning
City of Deer Park	Wesley Brandon, Storm Water Specialist
Taylor Lake Village	Einhr Goerland, City Council
Harris County	Catherine Elliot, HCFCD
Environmental	Grace Martinez, Sierra Club
	Steve Hupp, Bayou Preservation Assoc
Education	George Guillen, UH/EIH
Business/Industry	CA Shields, BAHEP/marketing
	Gary Johnson, Retired Chevron Phillips
Recreation/Parks	Roni Skirvin, CLC Green Plan - Hike/Bike
	Mark Kramer, ABNC
State Agency	Brian Koch, TSSWCB
Transportation	Tom Beck, TXDOT

The group discussed nominating a few more people, such as someone from The Armand Bayou Watershed Partnership, Recreation Groups like paddlers, someone from NASA, and someone from City Parks. We received three more nomination forms at this meeting: Tyson Vodochodsky (Pinky's Kayak Rental), Claire Mules (Clear Lake Green Plan – Golf Course Committee), Diane Humes (Armand Bayou Watershed Partnership).

The group discussed a date for the next meeting. Based on a show of hands, March 6 looks like the best date for a meeting. The time will be 1:30 to 3:30 at either EIH or Armand Bayou Nature Center.