+MEETING OF THE RTP SUBCOMMITTEE HOUSTON-GALVESTON AREA COUNCIL TELECONFERENCE PARTICIPATION VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS March 10, 2021 1:30PM Minutes

winutes			
Member Attendance:			
Primary Member	Present	Alternate	Present
Maureen Crocker, Chair	Yes	Jennifer Ostlind	Yes
Perri D'Armond, Vice Chair	Yes	Stacy Slawinski	No
Monique Johnson	Yes	Krystal Lastrape	Yes
Ruthanne Haut	Yes	John Powers	No
Clay Forister	No	Karen McKinnon	No
Adam France	Yes	Chris Bogert	No
Christopher Sims	Yes	Chad Tressler	No
Ricardo Villagrand	No	Francisco Carrillo	No
Loyd Smith	Yes	Bryan Brown	Yes
Nick Woolery	No	Frank Simoneaux	Yes
Yancy Scott	Yes	Bobby Pennington	No
Charles Airiohuodion	Yes	Jeffrey English	Yes
Lisa Collins	No	Scott Ayres	No
Alberto Lyne	No	Priya Zachariah	Yes
Ken Fickes	Yes	Vernon Chambers	Yes
Harrison Humphrey	Yes	Stephanie Thomas	Yes
Jonathan Brooks	Yes	Bakeyah Nelson	No
Elijah Williams	No	Irma Sanchez	No
Bruce Mann	No	Rohit Saxena	No
Roger Rees	No	Brett Milutin	No
Janis Scott	No	Paulette Wagner	No
John Tyler	No	VACANT	-
Bill Zrioka	Yes	David Leslie	No

Others Present:

Andrew Mao, Bryan Brown, Courtney Blechle, Dale (guest), Darrin Willer, Jim Dickinson, Diane Domagas, Carrie Evans, David Fink, Ben Finley, Stephan Gage, Shixin Gao, Thomas Gray, Donte Green, Veronica Green, Sandra Holliday, Allie Isbell, James Koch, Ayo Jibowu, Joel Herrera, Joel Salinas, Sharon Ju, Katie Hirschheim, Kelly Lark, Megan Kennison, Neely Kim, Justin Kuzila, Paresh Lad, Shirley Li, Graciela Lubertino, Carlos Lugo, Patrick Mandapaka, Mercy Tham, Carlene Mullins, Michael Onuogu, Frank Pagliei, Patricia Bean, Craig Raborn, Francis Rodriguez, Roger Gonzalez, Michael Rudd, Ruth Henshall, Chris Van Slyke, Kathryn Vo, Veronica Waller, Chris Whaley, David Wurdlow

Staff Participating:

Mike Burns, Vishu Lingala

1. Call to Order

Maureen C called the meeting to order at 1:30PM

Mike B read a statement of how the meeting would be conducted via remote participation and the ground rules for any discussion.

Mike B conducted the roll call for attendance and confirmed a quorum was present. Maureen C confirmed a quorum was present.

2. Approval of Minutes

Christopher S made a motion, seconded by Peri D, to accept the minutes. The motion passed unanimously.

- 3. Discussion of Requested RTP Amendments:
 - a. IH610E (Ship Channel Bridge Replacement)
 - b. IH610S (IH45 to SH228)
 - c. SH35 (Dixie Dr to BS 35C North)
 - d. SH35 (South of SH6 to FM518)

Maureen C asked about the schedule for the requested amendments.

Vishu L summarized the requested amendment projects, the process, and the schedule, noting that the final alignments of SH35 and SH36 is not finalized and discussions between TxDOT and local communities is on-going. The fiscal constraint was summarized noting that the expenditures with amendments is \$141 billion and within the budget for \$147 billion.

Maureen C asked about the public commenting period runs through April 28, 2021. Vishu L responded that TAC and TPC action is being moved to the May meetings. Maureen C mentioned that H-GAC does not plan to update the financial forecast and encouraged members to review the FHWA Transportation Process Briefing Book, particularly the link between the RTP and various regional goals.

Priya Z asked if the presentations are available on the HGAC website.

Mike B noted that the meeting materials and minutes are saved on the HGAC website. James K presented a summary of the history, location, status, and agency and public coordination to date for the SH35 Corridor and IH610S Feasibility Study, including a summary of other studies in the region that influence the two project areas. Priya Z asked about coordination METRO for the SH35 project.

James K responded that the initial outreach has been with local communities and METRO will be consulted as planned.

Maureen C noted flood control is a concern in the Sunnyside area and lots of City of Houston residential impacts and encourage coordination among Harris County Flood Control, METRO, City of Houston, and TxDOT.

Paresh L asked about the drainage impacts for SH35 for the portion inside the Loop. James K responded that TxDOT is using the new Atlas-14 maps and will address and conform to that criteria and will coordinate with Houston Public Works on drainage. Jonathan B asked that the SH35 project incorporate the recommendations of the South Houston Mobility Plan and community supported improvements for walking and biking. James K summarized the IH610S Loop Feasibility Study noting that the study is still in the early stages and noted the study location, history, and status.

Maureen C asked the difference between a feasibility study and a Planning Environmental Linkage (PEL) study, and a description of next steps.

James K responded that a feasibility study identified issues and opportunities, which then leads to development of schematics prior to starting the NEPA process. The PEL process has a lot of similarities and is more closely related to the NEPA process.

Loyd S asked about the decision-making process for ramps and interchanges.

James K responded that the study does help design the best facility. There is

coordination with the Southeast Management District to provide elevated options that may influence design of ramps, connections, and column spacing.

Maureen C thanked James K for the presentations and encouraged members to follow the projects and ask questions as they develop through the process.

4. Announcements

- Next TAC Meeting March 17, 2021 at 9:30AM (Teleconference)
- Next TPC Meeting March 26, 2021 at 9:30AM (Teleconference)
- Next RTP Subcommittee Meeting April 14, 2021 at 1:30PM (Teleconference)

Maureen C mentioned the future meeting dates and times for TPC, TAC, and RTP Subcommittee

Mike B noted the availability of meeting material on the HGAC website and would try to provide TxDOT presentations in a more accessible location on the website. David W thanked Maureen C for her service to the subcommittee and HGAC. Maureen C responded with clarification that she will be retiring, that this would be her last meeting as Chair, and enjoyed working with everyone.

5. Adjourn

Maureen C declared the meeting adjourned at 2:35PM.

Minutes submitted by: Mike Burns