MEETING OF THE RTP SUBCOMMITTEE HOUSTON-GALVESTON AREA COUNCIL TELECONFERENCE PARTICIPATION VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS August 12, 2020 1:30 p.m.

Minutes

Member	Attendance:
--------	-------------

Primary Member	Present	Alternate	Present
Maureen Crocker, Chair	Yes	Jennifer Ostlind	No
Monique Johnson	Yes	Krystal Lastrape	Yes
Ruthanne Haut	Yes	John Powers	No
Clay Forister	Yes	Karen McKinnon	No
Adam France	Yes	Chris Bogert	No
Christopher Sims	Yes	Chad Tressler	No
Ricardo Villagrand	Yes	Francisco Carrillo	No
Loyd Smith	No	Bryan Brown	Yes
Nick Woolery	Yes	Frank Simoneaux	No
Yancy Scott	No	Bobby Pennington	No
Charles Airiohudion	Yes	Jeffrey English	Yes
Lisa Collins	No	Scott Ayres	Yes
Alberto Lyne	No	Priya Zachariah	Yes
Perri D'Armond	Yes	Stacy Slawinski	No
Ken Fickes	Yes	Vernon Chambers	Yes
Harrison Humphrey	Yes	Stephanie Thomas	Yes
Jonathan Brooks	Yes	Bakeyah Nelson	No
Elijah Williams	Yes	Irma Sanchez	No
Bruce Mann	Yes	Rohit Saxena	No
Roger Rees	No	Brett Milutin	No
Janis Scott	Yes	Paulette Wagner	No
John Tyler	Yes	VACANT	-
Bill Zrioka	Yes	David Leslie	No

Others Present:

James Koch, Ted Ross, Sean Middleton, Michael Ereti, Joe Giuliani, Andy Mao, Tim Moore, Bill Tobin, David Wurdlow, Chelsea Young

Staff Participating:

Alan Rodenstein, Adam Beckom, Mike Burns, Allie Isbell, Carlene Mullins, Cameron Stawicki, Veronica Green, Ayo Jibowu, Patrick Mandapaka, Karen Owen, Graciela Lubertino

1. Call to Order

Maureen C called the meeting to order at 1:30PM. Mike B conducted the roll call for attendance and confirmed a quorum was present. Maureen C confirmed a quorum was present. Mike B read a statement of how the meeting would be conducted via remote participation and the ground rules for any discussion.

2. Approval of Minutes

Mike B noted that Jeffrey English attended the June 10, 2020 meeting and the draft minutes have been corrected.

Ken F made a motion, seconded by Charles A, to accept the minutes.

The motion passed unanimously.

3. Election of Officers

Ken F submitted nominations for Maureen C to serve as Chair and Perri D'Armond as Vice-Chair.

Maureen C asked for and did not receive any additional nominations. Maureen C called for a vote to approve the slate of candidates. The vote was unanimous.

4. Project Evaluation (Vishu Lingala)

Vishu L presented the status of updating the strategy to be used for evaluating projects during the next Call for Projects. Recommendations are sought from all H-GAC subcommittees. Maureen C asked if additional funding would be available for active transportation projects. Vishu L responded that CMAQ funds could be used for active transportation projects. Maureen C mentioned that the categories align well with the RTP. Bruce M mentioned that the status looks good.

Harrison H asked about congestion reduction strategies and consideration of all project benefits. Vishu L responded that the scoring methods are changing, and recommendations are still being developed.

Charles A asked about the mission statement and consideration of vehicles passing through the region. And asked how this effort aligns with public comments on the RTP.

Vishu L responded that public comments collected during the RTP development included requests for more funding for transit and active transportation projects.

Jonathan B mentioned that he likes that the effort is including comments from the Pedestrian and Bicycle Subcommittee. And asked about how safety measure are being incorporated.

Vishu L responded that safety benefit evaluation will change to consider location attributes. No action was taken.

5. RTP Amendment and Air Quality Conformity (Vishu Lingala)

Vishu L summarized the need to amend the RTP to add projects that will soon be initiated in TxDOT's project development process.

James Koch summarized the amendments requested by TxDOT, including the Hempstead Highway, I-10 East, I-10 West, Loop 610 West, SH 35, SH 36A, SH 288, SH 6, and SH 99. The I-10 West project would include regional express lanes, and the Loop 610 West project envisions both transit hubs and multi-level/multi-modal regional express lanes.

Maureen C asked about the timeline for the amendment and conformity.

Vishu L responded that the staff work and TPC action would be completed by February 2021 with subsequent determination from federal partners by June 2021.

Maureen C asked if more detailed presentations would be provided prior to February 2021. Vishu L responded that staff will request presentations from TxDOT for a future meeting. Jonathan B asked if transfer points are being included in the projects near the Katy Freeway. James K responded that TxDOT is integrating outreach efforts for all projects in and around Katy Freeway for public review convenience.

Janis Scott asked about the repurposing of the old Post Office downtown for an intermodal center. Maureen C clarified that the property is now privately owned and is being developed. No action was taken.

6. Congestion Management Process (CMP) Update – Review Performance Measures and Reliability Problem Areas (Mike Burns)

Mike B summarized the status and next steps for the CMP updating and described the measures being used for identifying congestion and safety problem areas.

Charles A asked about the network being used for the CMP.

Mike B mentioned that currently staff is recommending the use of the air quality conformity network for the CMP network.

Harrison H asked mentioned the measure of free flow speeds conflicts with safety goals and requested time after the meeting to discuss the speed index measures. No action was taken.

- 7. Announcements
 - Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting (TAC) August 19, 2020 at 9:30 a.m., Teleconference.
 - Transportation Policy Council Meeting (TPC) August 28, 2020 at 9:30 a.m., Teleconference.
 - Next Regional Transportation Plan Meeting September 9, 2020 (Teleconference)

Maureen C mentioned the upcoming meetings and asked if anyone has a conflict for the next subcommittee meeting to please notify staff.

8. Adjourn

Maureen C declared the meeting adjourned at 2:43PM.

Minutes submitted by: Mike Burns