Armand Bayou

Coordination Committee Meeting Summary

March 6, 2013

H-GAC: Aubin Phillips, Todd Running, Rachel Powers

TCEQ: Jason Leifester, Lauren Oertel

Meeting Attendees: Linda Broach (TCEQ), Linda Sheed (ABWP), Mark Kramer (ABNC), Diane Humes (ABWP), Grace Martinez (Sierra Club), Catherine Elliot (HCFCD), Carl Lawrence (City of Houston, District E), Tyson Vodochodsky (Pinky's Kayak), Claire Mules (Golf Course Committee), Tim Tietjens (City of La Porte), Bianca Locke (City of Pasadena), Alan Amor (NASA), Einar Goerland (Taylor Lake Village), Stacy Holcomb, Maria Modelska (UH), Bob Savely (CLCWA), Tom Beck (TXDOT), Steve Hupp (BPA), Scott Jones (GBF)

This meeting was held at the North Office Annex (NOA) Building at EIH at the University of Houston Clear Lake. The meeting started with introductions by staff and attendees. There were approximately 25 people in attendance.

Aubin Phillips explained how the Coordination Committee will work, they will set their own process and schedule for the duration of the project. The committee will be communicating with the public and will be drafting the plan to submit to TCEQ. Presently there are 17 people that have submitted nominations for the Coordination Committee. At this meeting one more nomination was received for the Clear Lake City Water Authority. There are a few people who have decided that they would prefer to be involved with work groups, or just observe meetings rather than join the Coordination Committee. The Committee can always be amended later if the group sees a need to do so.

Next the group discussed the ground rules for the Coordination Committee. Aubin passed out an example from another group that was used as a starting point for the discussion. It was decided that each Coordination Committee member would be able to designate up to two alternates that could serve in their place if they were unable to attend a meeting, these two people do not need to be approved by the other members of the Committee. A quorum will be needed in order to conduct business at a meeting, which would require 10 people in attendance. As far as making decisions, the group will attempt to reach consensus, but if they cannot, they will need to have 75% of those present agree. The group added in that people will be able to vote by phoning in to the meeting, or by having their alternates vote. Notes will be typed up after each meeting and distributed to the group. Name plates will be made for Committee members so everyone can see who is who and who is voting. As far as public comment goes, there will be a 3 minute public comment period for up to 5 people at the beginning of each meeting, and there will also be a

public discussion period after discussion of agenda items, for a duration of time at the discretion of the facilitator (H-GAC).

At the last meeting the group discussed the possibility of just adding Armand Bayou on to the BIG I-Plan instead of recreating a whole new document. Rachel Powers from H-GAC is the project manager for the BIG and gave the group some more information about the BIG. Rachel told the group that there can be additions to the BIG geographically or with implementation activities. Armand Bayou watershed wouldn't have to do everything that is in the BIG, the only requirement would be for waste water treatment facilities, they would have to sample effluent as well as would be require to sample more frequently. The process for adding a watershed to the BIG is to petition at the Annual Meeting (May 14 this year), however a completed TMDL would be required. The best case scenario would be to petition in May 2014. The best course of action would be to form works groups and let the work groups make recommendations to the Coordination Committee about whether they should join the BIG I-Plan for develop their own work.

Next the group discussed potential work groups. They came up with 4 categories; these can be amended or changed later.

- 1. Wildlife/Habitat/Agriculture/Feral Hogs
- 2. Education/Outreach/Recreation/Domestic Pets/Litter, Residential
- 3. Wastewater Infrastructure/OSSF
- 4. Storm water/Industry/Land Development/MS4s

The group discussed a date for the next meeting. Based on a show of hands, April 3 looks like the best date for a meeting. The time will be 1:30 to 3:30 at Armand Bayou Nature Center.

List of Coordination Committee Members:

Interest	Representative
City of Houston	Dennis Paul, District E
City of Pasadena	Daya Dayananda, Asst. Dir of Public Works
City of La Porte	Tim Tietjens, Director of Planning
City of Deer Park	Wesley Brandon, Storm Water Specialist
Taylor Lake Village	Einar Goerland, City Council
Harris County	Catherine Elliott, HCFCD

Environmental	Grace Martinez, Sierra Club
	Steve Hupp, Bayou Preservation Assoc
	Mark Kramer, ABNC
Education	George Guillen, UH/EIH
Business/Industry	CA Shields, BAHEP/marketing
Recreation/Parks	Roni Skirvin, CLC Green Plan - Hike/Bike
	Claire Mules, Golf Course Committee
	Tyson Vodochodsky, Pinky's Kayak
Water Authority	Bob Savely, CLCWA
State Agency	Brian Koch, TSSWCB
ABWP	Diane Humes
Transportation	Tom Beck, TXDOT