7. APPROVAL OF 2023 TPC NOMINATING COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS

BACKGROUND

The Bylaws for the Transportation Policy Council (TPC) require the Chairman to appoint a Nominating Committee prior to the first meeting of each calendar year for the purpose of bringing before the Council a slate of officers for consideration. The 2023 TPC Nominating Committee was approved at the TPC meeting in November 2022 and includes the following members: Mayor Joe Zimmerman (City of Sugar Land)-Chair, Council Member Sally Branson (City of Friendswood), Council Member Sallie Alcorn (City of Houston), Commissioner Justin Beckendorff, (Waller County) Mr. Roberto Trevino (Harris County), Mr. Chuck Wemple (H-GAC), Judge Mark Keough (Montgomery County), and Dr. Carol Lewis (Gulf Coast Rail District).

The Nominating Committee is recommending the following positions to the TPC: TPC Officers, TPC Other Transportation Interests position, and Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) At-Large positions, Transportation Safety Committee and Greater Houston Freight Committee Co-Chairs.

CURRENT SITUATION

The Nominating Committee met on January 26, 2023 to review and prepare recommendations for candidates for the above positions and will be presented at the TPC meeting in January to seek approval.

ACTION REQUESTED

Approval of the 2023 TPC Nominating Committee recommendations for the following positions: TPC Officers, TPC Other Transportation Interests position, and Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) At-Large positions, Transportation Safety Committee and Greater Houston Freight Committee Co-Chairs.