## 8. 2024 Nominating Committee and Nomination Process

### **BACKGROUND**

The Bylaws for the Transportation Policy Council (TPC) require the Chairman to appoint a Nominating Committee prior to the first meeting of each calendar year for the purpose of bringing before the Council a slate of officers for consideration. The 2024 TPC Nominating Committee was approved at the TPC meeting in November 2023 and includes the following members: Mayor Joe Zimmerman (City of Sugar Land) – Nominating Committee Chair, Commissioner Robin Armstrong (Galveston County), Council Member Sally Branson (City of Friendswood), Council Member David Robinson (City of Houston), Roberto Trevino (Harris County Toll Road Authority), Mr. Chuck Wemple (H-GAC), Judge Mark Keough (Montgomery County), and Dr. Carol Lewis (Gulf Coast Rail District).

The Nominating Committee recommends the following positions: TPC Officers, TPC Other Transportation Interests position, Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) At-Large positions, and Greater Houston Freight Committee Co-Chairs.

#### **CURRENT SITUATION**

The Nominating Committee met on December 6, 2023 to review and prepare recommendations for the above positions to be presented at the January 2024 Transportation Policy Council meeting for approval.

#### **ACTION REQUESTED**

Approval of the 2024 TPC Nominating Committee recommendations for the following positions: TPC Officers, TPC Other Transportation Interests position, Greater Houston Freight Committee Co-Chair and Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) At-Large positions.

2024 Transportation Advisory Committee - Nominated & Appointed Positions

	Representing	Primary Name	Title/Organization	Alternate Name	Title/Organization	
	Active Transportation	Stephan Gage	TxDOT-Houston District	Patricia Kievlan	Bike the Woodlands Coalition	
	Active Transportation	Aubin Phillips	METRO	Joe Cutrufo	Bike Houston	
	Airports	James Brown	Conroe N. Houston Regional Airport	Marcel Allen	Houston Airport System	
	Business Interests	Marlissa Briggs	North Houston Association	Amy Skicki	BayTran	
S	Business Interests	Veronica Chapa-Gorczynski	East End District	David Kim	Urban Land Institute	
ion	Cities of Less than 50,000	Morad Kabiri	City of Friendswood	Jilardo Arias	City of Friendswood	
Positions	Cities of Less than 50,000	Dan Johnson	City of Manvel	Vacant	Vacant	
L P	Cities of Less than 50,000	Joe Garcia	City of Pattison	Janet Corte	City of Katy	
Nominated	Citizen Interests	Nikki Knight	Greater Southwest Management District	Dexter Handy	Citizens Transportation Coalition	
in in	Citizen Interests	Sherry Weesner	Memorial Heights TIRZ 5	Irma Sanchez	Westchase District	
lo	Environmental	Shelly Sekula Gibbs, M.D.	The Woodlands Township	Sue Theiss	TxDOT-Houston District	
_	Environmental	Katherine Parker	Gulf Coast Rail District	Carl Woodward	Harris County Flood District	
	Planning	Catherine McCreight	TxDOT-Houston District	Brenda Bustillos	TxDOT-Houston District	
	Planning	David Fields	City of Houston	Monique Johnson	City of Houston	
	Planning	David Wurdlow	City of Houston	Jennifer Ostlind	City of Houston	
	Ports	Mike Wilson	Port Freeport	Dean Corgey	Seafarers International	
	D	Wael Tabara, P.E.	Assistant County Familia and	Karen McKinnon, P.E.	Assistant County Engineer	
	Brazoria County	'	Assistant County Engineer	,	,	
	Chambers County City of Baytown	Natalie Lopez Brant Gary	Engineering Director	Cory W. Taylor  Martin Scribner	Contract Engineer Planning & Development Services Director	
	City of Conroe	Jordan Cruz	Assistant City Manager City Planner	Chris Bogert, P.E.	Assistant Director of Capital Projects/City Engineer	
	City of Galveston	Robert Winiecke	Director of Infrastructure and Engineering	Brandon Cook	Assistant City Manager	
	City of Houston	Veronica O. Davis, P.E.	Deputy Director	Fabio Capillo	Assistant Director-Houston Public Works	
	City of League City	Christopher Sims	Director of Engineering	Cara Davis	Assistant Director, Project Management	
	City of Missouri City	Marcus Snell	Assistant City Manager	Joi Johnson	Assistant Director of Public Works	
	City of Pasadena	Sarah Benavides	Engineer & Sr. Assistant Public Works Director	Mark Gardemal	Engineer, Deputy Director Public Work	
Positions	City of Pearland	Lorenzo Wingate	Director of Engineering and Public Works		Assistant Director of Capital Projects	
siti	City of Sugarland	Melanie Beaman	Transportation & Mobility Coordinator	Jameson Appel Sagnik Raha	·	
	City of Texas City	Kim Golden, P.E.	City Engineer	Jack Haralson, P.E.	Engineering Manager Engineer Public Works	
ıtec	Fort Bend County	Stacy Slawinski, P.E.	County Engineer	Rick Staigle, P.E.	First Assistant County Engineer	
joi.	Galveston County	Micheal Shannon, P.E.	County Engineer  County Engineer	Nancy Baher, P.E.	Assistant County Engineer Assistant County Engineer	
Appointed	Harris County	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant	Vacant	
	At-Large H-GAC	Joe Compian	Mayor Pro-Tem, Dist. B, City of La Marque	Vacant	Vacant	
	Liberty County	David Douglas	Director Economic Development	Jay H. Knight	County Judge	
	METRO	Clint Harbert	VP System & Capital Planning	Alan Clark	Chief Strategy Officer	
1	Montgomery County	Jean Mann	Government Relations	John McKinney, Jr., Esq.	Floodplain Administrator	
	Port of Houston	Bruce Mann	Director, Freight Mobility	Rohit Saxena	Director, Facility Planning	
	TXDOT-Beaumont District	Lisa Collins, P.E.	Director, Transportation Planning & Development	Nancy Peron, P.E.	District Advanced Transportation Planning Director	
	TxDOT-Bedomon District	Varuna Singh	Director, Transportation Planning & Development	Jeffrey English	Planner	
	Waller County	Ross McCall	County Engineer	Luke Fortkamp	Assistant County Engineer	
	vvalier Courtly	NOSS MICCUII	Coonly Engineer	Loke i olikulih	Assistant County Engineer	

# **2024 TPC Nominating Committee Recommendations**

2024 TPC Officers						
Officer	Recommendation	Representing				
Chairman	Justin Beckendorff	Waller County				
First Vice Chair	Grady Prestage	Fort Bend County				
Second Vice Chair	Kevin Cole	City of Pearland				
Secretary	Nancy Arnold	Smaller Cities				

2024 TPC Other Transportation Interests Recommendation					
Primary	Organization	Alternate	Organization		
Phyllis Saathoff	Port Freeport	Roger Guenther	Port Houston		

2024 Greater Houston Freight Committee		
Co-Chair	Organization	
Richard Zientek	Union Pacific	
Bruce Mann*	Port Houston	

<sup>\*</sup>Continuing from 2023 2-year appointment