Site Navigation

H-GAC Home

Page Content

About H-GAC


H-GAC is the regional organization through which local governments consider issues and cooperate in solving area wide problems.

Through H-GAC, local governments also initiate efforts in anticipating and preventing problems, saving public funds.

The 13-county H-GAC service region is growing, becoming more diverse, and constantly changing.  In order to address the needs of citizens and businesses, local governments are providing leadership to guide regional development wisely and manage change constructively.

The foundation for responsible public service in a rapidly changing region is H-GAC’s program of regional planning.  H-GAC provides planning programs in most areas of shared governmental concern.

All H-GAC programs are carried out under the policy direction of H-GAC’s local elected official Board of Directors.  H-GAC is made up of the region's local governments and their elected officials, and works together with public and private sector organizations and a host of volunteers.

The 13 counties in H-GAC's service region are: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, and Wharton.  There are more than 100 member cities in the region.

The Houston-Galveston Area Council is committed to assuring non-discrimination in its programs and activities to the effect that no person shall on the grounds of race, color, national origin, sex, age, disability or income status be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination or retaliation under any federally or non-federally funded program or activity administered by the Houston-Galveston Area Council.

Site Footer
Back to Top